Be our guest

image
Since we relocated, we have been very fortunate to have friends and family visit us up on the hill. When preparing a room for our guests, it is important to me that things are as comfortable as I can make them. The style of this home is very casual, and not the style for everyone, but the little things added to a guest room can be used with any theme.

Here is a is a look at our space and how I make our loved ones feel like they are special.

Our main guest room has a private bath and I call it “The Waller Suite”, after our very first guests to stay with us. We have additional guest space, but this is the one used most often.

The room was white when we moved in, and needed a cozier feel. I wanted a color that was soothing to everyone, so I painted it Martha Stewart Linen.

Then I started with the bed.

image

In my opinion, bedding is one of the most important components in making guests feel at home and comfortable. I love to use crisp white cotton sheets and lots of pillows to accommodate preferences. I use blankets and quilts mixed with duvets, to offer different weights of covers. Some folks like a lot of covers and some folks don’t. Some folks like fluffy pillows, some folks don’t.

For my spring/summer bedding, I couldn’t resist the light pinks that were everywhere. I am using two solid quilts, with a Cynthia Rowley duvet and additional Pottery Barn pillow shams. For the fall/winter season I use a neutral linen set from Pottery Barn that I really love.

I find that bedding doesn’t have to be super expensive to add comfort.

Layers of bedding

Layers of bedding

Crisp white cotton sheets

Crisp white cotton sheets

Next to the bed, I have a nightstand on both sides so that couples staying with us have their own space for personal items.

I use the largest of the two to keep some items on hand for our quests, such as reading materials, a dish for jewelry or small things, and a water carafe & glass.

I also like to have fresh flowers or seasonal greens by the bed. Some people really enjoy the added touch of fresh flowers and if you are able, gathering them from around the yard is a special touch.

I also have a chair for sitting and a cashmere throw for snuggling. Having a chair in the room is helpful to older guests.

Nightstand

Nightstand

Chair and cozy throw

Chair and cozy throw

A  laundry basket, a luggage rack, & a night light all help to make the room functional and cozy for our friends and family.

I keep a stack of fresh towels in the room so no one has to go searching for them, and I stock the bathroom with items I think they may need. Another small touch is that I put out a fresh bar of soap in the bathroom for every visit.

You can use fancy soap, or my personal favorite, plain old white Dove soap.

Soaps

Soaps

Laundry basket

Laundry basket

Visiting can be exhausting, with the traveling, sightseeing and general excitement.

 Having a t.v. in the room is a convenience for guests who may want to go to bed early and watch a movie, or even for those who want to get up early to watch the news without feeling like they are waking up anyone else.

Just another touch that will help them feel like they are at home.

image

After making sure the quest space is comfortable, I like to leave some kind of special gift in the room to let my company know just how much we appreciate them making the trip to visit us.

I have put together gift baskets of different sizes, some with things to relax and some with local treats and sometimes just a small little something to show some love.

And that’s how I do a guest room, Up on the hill.

A little something

A little something

Gift basket

Gift basket

 

10 thoughts on “Be our guest

  1. I have slept there and it’s fabulous! When you mentioned the chair for older folks. …..you weren’t referring to me?……were you?;)

    Like

  2. Looks lovely. I concur with the small gift. I make it a habit to have something for everyone that visits – even the smallest of convenience or notable of the area. It is always appreciated and I think it helps to instantly relax the visitor who is likely stressed from all the travel.

    Like

  3. Karen,
    Gorgeous Guest Room, dear one!!!
    I adore the tranquil color palette!!!
    With all the layers of bedding, this appears to be a “heavenly” rest!
    Visiting from Rustic & Refined!!!
    Fondly,
    Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

