Something old made beautiful

image

Every so often I make a trip to the Habitat Rehome store. Sometimes dropping off, sometimes going in for a look.

On my most recent trip I did both. While in the store I saw a sad, old stool that still looked promising.

It was ugly mind you, a dark green and beat up. But it was $10. I picked it up and it was heavy. I look at the bottom and there was a makers label. I didn’t even know where I would use it, but I thought, for $10, sold! I’ll figure it out.

I googled the tag underneath, it was made by the B.L. Marble Chair Company in the 1800s- early 1900s in Ohio and was stool #151. Pretty cool.

Well, I had plans for my new diamond in the ruff.

On the way home I stopped and picked up some Miss Mustard Seeds Milk Paint in the color Apron Strings.

image image

After some fresh  paint and and a coat of wax, I had a new treasure. Since the stool was only $10 and the small paint size was $7, it was a steal!

I added some flowers from the yard to an Ironstone pitcher that I bought at Philadelphia’s Clover Market, and my new stool found a home in a bright corner of the kitchen.

image

image

Isn’t it lovely? Not bad for about an hour of work and a few dollars!

Karen

One thought on “Something old made beautiful

Leave a Reply

