Making a china hutch stand out

image

One of my recent projects was to update my full size china hutch.

It was a perfectly fine hutch, just really boring. A big brown piece of furniture that didn’t do anything for the room it was in. Here is the before picture….

image

Like I said, boring!

After getting some inspiration, I decided to paint it a color that would really stand out in the living room.

I settled on Annie Sloan chalk paint in Duck Egg blue with a coat of clear wax. If you haven’t tried it before, it’s pretty much an organic paint. You can check it out here www.anniesloan.com

image
I painted two coats in one day ( this paint dries fast) waited a few days, then applied a coat of the clear wax. I didn’t remove any of the hardware or even tape the glass, I just used a small craft brush. Easy peasy.

A small investment of time for a big impact!

image

2 thoughts on “Making a china hutch stand out

Leave a comment